Happy Baby Pose

I have to say that Charlotte is a contented baby. She has her moments, as you would expect, but given half the chance, she can be found lying on her back clutching at her feet and bringing them to her chest, gurgling away cutely.

My youngest son finds Charlotte in this pose extremely amusing and adorable and squeals with pleasure (still!) each time he sees her doing so.

She now drools immensely going through several bibs per day soaking them with the continuous flow of water dripping from her gums. She is in the habit of pulling her feet to her mouth and sucking intensely on her chosen big toe which must give her some comfort!

I laugh inwardly at this move, as for the last 6 weeks the last track in my Body Balance class asks us to lie down on our mat in ‘happy baby pose’ wrapping our fingers round our big toes and pulling our feet to our chest. The idea is to relax and stretch out the hamstrings a little whilst massaging our lower back. (Always the risk of some trapped wind escaping at this time, I must point out!)

 I’m always so tempted to see if I can manage to get one of my big toes in my mouth, like Charlotte! Although the prospect of tasting a sweaty foot with a big toe of hard skin is not appealing!

I’ve regained my flexibility since her birth although I’ve not attempted much cardio workouts yet. My post C-section body needed to heal completely and I’ve avoided any aerobic activity to date.  My last venture into the park for a jog two weeks ago resulted in a pulled lower calf which took a few days to go away. I still do 20 mins walk on the machine in the gym several times a week usually after my Body Balance or Body Pump class. Re-introducing cardio is next on my list as I need to combat the pounds that are creeping back on thanks to my sweet tooth and love of chocolate!

I’ll keep up the happy baby pose but will add some cardio to compliment it……one of these days 😊

Leave a comment